Rietveld Arsenale will consist of two exhibitions in one, exploring the mediums of photography and video art, and is a tribute to the talent that the school produces at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. Daya Cahen, Idan Hayosh, Marianne Vierø and Eva-Fiore Kovacovsky are some of the most promising recent graduates to have the opportunity to exhibit their new work alongside the world renowned photographers to have emerged from the art school. Work from established photographers Rineke Dijkstra, Charlotte Dumas, Paul Kooiker, Celine van Balen and Johannes Schwartz will be on display at the Arsenale. The photography division of Rietveld Arsenale will explore a variety of themes, from the suggestive and manipulative powers of the media, to the question and role of fiction within reality, and will demonstrate the ongoing excellence of the department over the last 25 years.
June 5th, 17.00

Photography by: Daya Cahen, Idan Hayosh, Marianne Vierø and Eva-Fiore Kovacovsky.

Photography by ex-students: Celine van Balen, Anuschka Blommers/Niels Schumm, Koos Breukel, Elspeth Diederix, Rineke Dijkstra, Charlotte Dumas, Paul Kooiker, Inez van Lamsweerde, Dana Lixenberg, Annaleen Louwes, Hellen van Meene, Julika Rudelius, Johannes Schwartz, Barbara Visser.

Travelling with One Minutes

The One Minutes Train (videos filmed through the window of a moving train): A collective art work of landscapes passing by. The journey starts with a one minute in Italy, then on to Switzerland, the Netherlands, Russia, China, India and America before returning to Europe.

Tarragona - Torto
Thierry Mandon

The One Minutes foundation selected work of the following artists:
Peter Adam & Janine Uprichard, Paula Albuquerque, Joana Bastos, Bieneke Bennekers, Bureau Zeezicht, Marina Chernikova, Nick Cope, Philipp Edelhoff, Alicia Felberbaum, Eugenia Fratzeskou , Elisabeth Frassl & Juli Fritz, Olivia Glebbeek, Elena Goray, Arnoud van den Heuvel, Nadine Hottenrott, Xiao Qin Huang, Maartje Jaquet, Mark Kadota, Kristina Kersa, Geertje Klaver, Evelien Krijl, Susan Lanting, Goddy Leye, Oona Libens, Yuri Mazeyev & Co, Michiel de Mik, Jo Mitchell, Emeka Ogboh, Andrzej Rafałowicz, Rene Rusjan, Paola Sacchetto, Andreas Templin, William Thompson, Su Tomesen, Pedro Torres, Anne Verhoijsen, Kim de Weijer, Weina, Zeng Hui Xue, Zhifei Yang

City One Minutes

City One Minutes (120 portraits of cities): Artists around the world document and reveal city life in hundreds of videos. Six cities; one video for every hour of the day. Together they form a unique collective art work of differing visions. The final selection of 120 portraits will be exhibited at the World Expo Shanghai 2010.

12.00 - 13.00 Hong Kong
Construction site
Femke Schaap, Sjerk Timmer

Selected City One Minutes:
Amman > Omar Abed Alnabi, Amer Al Sallal, Mahmod Al-Slwadi, Hasan Nabulsi, Mustapha Mahmod, Ghassan Aqel, Esraa Jalal, Anja Masling, Mahmod Fares, Dana Qabbani, Esraa El-Mograbi, Su Tomesen, Mohammad Al Qaq

Amsterdam > Su Tomesen, Krijl, de Feijter, Anky van der Heijden, Maartje Jaquet, Masja van de Berg, Judith Leysner, Thierry Mandon, Jennifer Pettersson, Aukje Dekker, Vava Stojadinovic & Caspar van Gemund

Beijing > S.Battal Kurt & Zhifei Yang, Vava Stojadinovic, Janneke Küpfer, Su Tomesen, Dario Bardic

Hongkong > Kali Nikolou, S.Battal Kurt & Zhifei Yang, Lam Chun Chau, Femke Schaap, Sjerk Timmer, Ranee Ng Sio Ieng, Tang Wai Yan & Cecile, Benny Woo, Silas Fong, Kingsley Ng, Simone Boon & Janno Vaartjes, Ineke Bakker

Las Vegas > Nadine Hottenrott, Ineke Bakker

San Francisco > Nadine Hottenrott

Sao Paulo > Paulo Vidal de Castro, Ana Elisa Carramaschi, Raquel De Moura Vallerini, Mariëlle Videler, Mario Cezar Rabello, Fernando Zelman, Danila Bustamante, Henk Nieman, Daniel Agusto Rubim Alves, Hélio Melo, Roberta Fortunato, German Alfonso, Fabrizio Poltronieri

Yogyakarta > Adert Putra Wicaksono, Jim Allen Abel, Angki Purbandono, Cyka, Agung Nugroho Widhi, Evelien Krijl, Olivia Glebbeek, Daniel Satyagraha, Mirat Muda
One Minute Split Screen Cinema
Visual rearrangements of feature films.
A cut-and-paste feast for the eye.
Selected One Minute Split Screen Cinema: Emile Zile, Vava Stojadinovic, Rogier Roeters, Vera Korman, Paula Albuquerque, Kali Nikolou, Lotje van Lieshout, Andreas Templin & Ingken Wagner, Anne Verhoijsen, Vivian Wenli Lin, Danitsa Linders, Avi Krispin, Judith Leysner
The One Minutes foundation stimulates the production and distribution of one minute videos all over the world. The One Minutes is an international podium for video art and it is cultural encounters.

Download Press Release (pdf)

The One Minutes has its operating base at the Sandberg Institute. City One Minutes is an initiative of The One Minutes foundation and Holland Doc 24 / VPRO in partnership with the East China Normal University in Shanghai.
Sponsors of The One Minutes are Mondriaan foundation, Netherlands China Arts foundation, Stifo, de Buren, Stichting DOEN and Netherlands Foundation for Visual Arts, Design and Architecture